Tuesday, September 10, 2013

Southall Socialist Sunday School

Southall Socialist Sunday school was established in 1922. (probably September 1922)

meeting at the Co-operative Hall, King Street, Southall every Sunday at 11:30am

The Secretary was Mrs L Groundsell of 34 Milford Avenue, Southall

Other local London Socialist Sunday Schools included

Willesden (Hamilton Hall, 375-377 High Road ) Sec L.V. Dean Chaplin Road, Cricklewood

Ealing A. V Barrett / J. Sherman Superintendent Sec J. Morey

Hounslow 50 High Street, Hounslow Sunday 3pm Sec: Mrs J. Tierney 75 Barrack road

Fulham Co-op Room 245 Dawes Road Sec Alf Blackburn 7 Disbrowe Rd

South Norwood


Plaistow J. Kebbell ILP Hut Cumberland Road

Woolwich (closed around 1930)

Tottenham A.H. Nancy

Dagenham A.E Brant

South West Ham Established 1898
Barking Labour Hall Ripple Road - Sec Miss Rhoda Bradford 28 Keith Road, Grays

London SSS Summer camp held at Keston (Kent)

South West Ham camp was for two weeks at Hainault forest

Willesden SSS could boast up to 100 members in attendance at its SSS meetings at one point in its history

Crystal Palace Socialist Sunday School met in the old Clarion Club ? and was linked to Penge and Beckenham Socialist Society of which Patman of the builders union (his daughter Rosa Patman was secretary of South London Socialist Sunday School union/federation but died December 29th 1929 aged 28)

October 20th 1930 was a red letter day at Ealing SSS, three babies to be named and welcomed into our movement Saxon May Fairbain, Ivan Godier and Anthony Bishop
all presented with a beautiful certificate designed by F.J. Bourne

Fulham Socialist Sunday School SSS established in 1904evicted from using school premiss by the council. Alex Gossip Superintendent since Fulham SSS opened in 1904

1936 Fulham Jean and Brian Pollitt "named 26th April 1936

Fulham Socialist May Queen

Barking SSS established 1921

South West Ham established 1897

East Bradford established 1909 secretary in 1930 was H. Nichol, in 1930 had its own SSS Choir

(1935 )Bradford (East Bowling) meet ILP Rooms 29a Paley Terrace -  Sec Gladys Winterbottom 7 Prospect St, Cutler Heights

(1935) Bradford (Great Horton) Paternoster Lane Sec Mr E Stott 9 Galsworthy Ave, Chellow Grange

London sec 1935 Mr F.A. Rogers 9 Moss Road Dagenham

London Federation Camp Mr Jack Allam 92 Oban Road, Barking

Essex Federation Mr E. Kebbell 16 Greenwood Road, Plaistow

West London SSS Federation J. Tierney 75 Barrack Road, Hounslow

Bradford Secretary Mr L. Hammond 370 Moorside Road, Fagley

Leeds Mr F Stork 182 Dewsbury Road

Ayshire Mr R. Crawford 15 Aird Ave, Ellis Park Kilmarnock

Edinburgh Miss J Fisher 6 Boswall Parkway Wardie

Lanarkshire James Hynd 21 Hyndford St Douglas Water by Lanark

National Press Secretary Mr J. Simmons 41 Salisbury Road, Davyhulme

National Hon President Mrs Clarice McNab Shaw 1 Portland Terrace Troon Ayrshire

National secretary Mr D.D. Hopkinson 8 Springwood Avenue, Shipley Yorksire

International secretary Miss Nancie Dean, 45 Chaplin Road, Cricklewood

Young Socialist education Bureau Mr G Malton 300 Moorside Eccleshill, Bradford

Dramatic and Ents Bureau Cllr Ada Wilson 50 Chapel House Nelson Lancs

National Needlecraft sec Miss L. Fogg 18 Bowman Terrace, Hanson Lane, Halifax

Ashington ILP (Independent Labour Party) Rooms Bolsover Street

Ayr ILP (Independent labour Party) Rooms 26 Sandgate
Barking Labour Hall

Sweedish SSS Unga ornar (Young Eagles also Sagostunder

Placing of the flag for which the assembly stood singing of the welcome song and singing. After the singing of England Arise and Lift up the peoples banner" other The Proletariat and the Internationale